Bihar CM Announces All Opposition Party Meet on 23rd June in Patna; Who All Will be There?


Ahead of the General Elections 2024, the Opposition Parties will meet up on 23rd June, 2023 in Patna to discuss the Grand Opposition Alliance

Patna: After the historic win in the Karnataka Assembly Elections 2023, Congress has emerged powerful across India. Bharatiya Janta Party (BJP)’s defeat has cost them power in the last South-Indian state too. In the wake of the 2024 Lok Sabha Elections, the Opposition Parties like Aam Aadmi Party (AAP), Shiv Sena (UBT), Nationalist Congress Party (NCP) and Trinamool Congress (TMC) have gained momentum in their race. They must unite if they want to defeat the Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) next year. 

Incidentally, as the BJP celebrates their 9th year in power with a month-long celebration, the opposition parties have decided to meet up and decode their course of action as the Lok Sabha Election 2024 are due in less than a year. Aam Aadmi Party(AAP) leader Arvind Kejriwal went on a tour to garner support for his government as the Central Government’s ordinance minimized their powers. In the last week of May, Kejriwal tweeted, “Today, I am starting my journey around the country for the rights of the people of Delhi. The Supreme Court passed a judgement giving justice to the people of Delhi. The Centre snatched away those rights by bringing the ordinance”.

On 22nd May 2023, the Congress General Secretary KC Venugopal announced that there would be an Opposition Party Meet would be held which would require the presence of all opposition parties. Therefore, it has been decided that on the 23rd of June, 2023, the Opposition Parties will have a meeting in Patna which will decide the course of the grand alliance for the 2024 General Elections. According to reports, the meeting will be attended by West Bengal CM and TMC chief Mamata Banerjee, Jharkhand CM Hemant Soren, Samajwadi party chief Akhilesh Yadav, AAP leader and Delhi CM Arvind Kejriwal, Shiv Sena chief and former CM Uddhav Thackeray, NCP leader Sharad Pawar, DMK chief and Tamil Nadu CM MK Stalin and top Left leaders including Sitaram Yechury of CPM, D Raja of CPI and Dipankar Bhattacharya of CPI-ML (Liberation).

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *