“Dream of 140 Cr Indians” Inaugurated by PM Narendra Modi Today; 21 Opposition Parties Boycott


With Prime Minister Narendra Modi inaugurating the new Parliament Building and the opposition parties boycotting it, here’s everything you need to know about it

New Delhi: Started on the 10th of December, 2020 as a part of India’s Central Vista Redevelopment Project, the new parliament building was inaugurated after its successful completion by Tata Projects Ltd. This multi-billion-dollar project started during the Covid-19 pandemic can house over 1,200 people in its four-storey building. After a lot of political controversies and clashes by different parties attracted a lot of tension in Delhi. Also, with 19 opposition parties issuing a joint statement to state their boycott of this ceremony, a Public Interest Litigation had been filed on Friday by Advocate CR Jaya Sukin in the Supreme Court seeking a direction that the inauguration should be done by the President of India.

On 28th of May, 2023, Prime Minister Narendra Modi inaugurated the new parliament building and said “The new Parliament building will be a testament to the dawn of Aatmanirbhar Bharat (self-reliant India). It will be a witness to our journey towards a Viksit Bharat (developed India),”. He claimed that today was the perfect example of the co-existence of the old and new. He also conducted a pooja ceremony at 7.30 a.m. before the inauguration and placed the Sengol in the Lok Sabha chamber. While the history of sceptre Sengol is still debated, with its installation in the new parliament building, PM Modi said, “In the Chola empire, it (Sengol) was considered a symbol of the Kartavya path (path of duty), Seva Path (path of service) and Rashtra path (path of the nation)”.

Ex-Member of Parliament Rahul Gandhi tweeted how PM Modi is “treating the ceremony like his coronation”. This raised a lot of questions from the opposition side regarding PM Modi inaugurating the new parliament building instead of the President of India Droupadi Murmu doing it. However, representatives of 25 political parties and many dignitaries, including chief ministers and ministers, attended the inauguration. 

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *