Inauguration of the New Parliament Building on Sunday: Who will Inaugurate and Who are Invited?


With the inauguration of the new parliament building being held on May 28th, here is everything you need to know about it

New Delhi: Started on the 10th of December, 2020 as a part of India’s Central Vista Redevelopment Project, the new parliament building is nearing its inauguration after its successful completion by Tata Projects Ltd. This multi-billion-dollar project started during the Covid-19 pandemic can house over 1,200 people in its four-storey building. Lok Sabha Speaker Om Birla has invited Prime Minister Narendra Modi to inaugurate the new parliament building on May 28th which surprisingly coincided with the Modi Government’s 9-year anniversary at the Centre. This attracted the opposition with complaints regarding the PM inaugurating it instead of the President of India. To this, the Bharatiya Janta Party (BJP) claimed that the “President is not a member of the Parliament” hence, PM Modi inaugurating the new parliament building is for the better.

Home Minister Amit Shah said, “The PM will felicitate about 60,000 workers who were involved in the construction of the new parliament building”. He also mentioned the placement of the ‘Sengol’ in the new parliament building. ‘Sengol’, in Tamil means “full of wealth” and is a symbol of India’s historic legacy as it was used by the then PM Jawaharlal Nehru on 14th August 1947 during the transfer of power from the British to the independent India. The government said, “The new building symbolizes the spirit of self-reliant India or Aatma-nirbhar Bharat”.

According to reports, physical and digital invitations have been sent to Members of Parliament (MP) of both the Rajya Sabha and the Lok Sabha. Former Lok Sabha Speakers and Rajya Sabha Chairmen have also been invited. The Chief Ministers of all the States and Union Territories have also been sent the invitation along with the Secretaries of all ministries of the Government of India have been invited too. Apart from these, prominent film, and sports stars have also been invited. Ratan Tata and the chief architect of the new parliament building Bimal Patel have been sent the invitation.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *