Putin declares martial law in four unilaterally annexed regions of Ukraine.


The four regions of Ukraine that Russia has declared annexed are Donetsk, Luhansk, Kherson and Zaporizhia. Russian President Vladimir Putin has imposed martial law on four regions of Ukraine illegally annexed by Moscow and has given additional emergency powers to Russian regional heads.

In a televised address to the members of his Security Council, President Putin also instructed the government to set up a special coordinating council under Prime Minister Mikhail Mishustin to work with Russia’s regions to boost Moscow’s war effort in Ukraine. “To coordinate the work of the heads of regions will receive the authority to create the appropriate headquarters. I instruct the government, the Ministry of Defense and other departments to provide them with all necessary assistance,” Putin added.Putin also said that he has instructed the government to establish a special council to coordinate the changes.

“The council will include vice-premiers, representatives of law enforcement agencies, the socio-economic bloc of the government, the presidential administration, and the State Council, which will ensure close interaction with the regions,” he said.

“In this regard, let me remind you that in the Donetsk People’s Republic, the Luhansk People’s Republic, as well as in the Kherson and Zaporizhzhia regions, martial law was in effect before joining Russia,” Putin said during a televised address. “Now we need to formalize this regime within the framework of Russian legislation.Therefore, I signed a decree on the introduction of martial law in these four subjects of the Russian Federation, so it will be immediately sent to the Federation Council,” Putin added.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *